Checkup

I read about a guy who was  getting the results of his annual physical. The doctor said,  “frankly, the best thing you could do would be to stop smoking and drinking, start exercising several time a week, and change your diet to more healthier foods”.  The man thought for a second and replied, “what would be the next best thing I could do”?

A checkup can bring both good and not so good news and can reveal issues and concerns, changes that may need to be made, and courses of actions that need to be adopted. But an honest assessment can help move us on to a clean bill of health both physically and spiritually.

Maybe you get a checkup once a year or perhaps it has been a long time since you had one. At my age the doctor wants to see me every four months (though I can usually stretch it to six).  The psalmist wrote of a check up that every believer should get and probably have every day,

Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me and know my anxious thoughts;
And see if there be any hurtful way in me, and lead me in the everlasting way (Psalm 139:23-24)

We should allow God to examine our hearts and assess our spiritual condition daily to determine if we are healthy or if there is something unhealthy in our relationship with Him. If we are not careful wrong attitudes, unforgiveness, and sinful behavior can subtly invade and wreck havoc in our spiritual lives. If God’s assessment reveals some issues we need to accept His prescription for what is best for us.  We should never settle for “what is the next best thing I can do”?

Blessings,
Pastor Steve

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

